What We Do

Red Cell


The Red Cell SIG aims to provide an annual UK forum for, and to promote interest in, all aspects of red blood cell research. It encompasses thropoiesis and maturation of red cells, red cell shape and mechanics in health and disease, and the structure and function of all the proteins of the red cell as revealed by their serology, molecular genetics and biochemistry. The Red Cell SIG aims to attract an audience and participants both from within the BBTS and from the wider scientific community. Meetings are advertised through the BBTS website and newsletter and through direct e-mail to anyone who would like to be included in our contact list.


Committee Members

Dr Lesley Bruce (Chair)
lesley.bruce@nhsbt.nhs.uk

Vanja Crew, IBGRL, NHSBT,Bristol, vanja.crew@nhsbt.nhs.uk

Anthony Baines, (co-opted) University of Kent
A.J.Baines@kent.ac.uk

Barnaby Clark, (co-opted) King’s College Hospital
barnaby.clark@nhs.net

Anita Hill, University of Leeds
anitahill@nhs.net

Tosti Mankelow, R&D, NHSBT, Bristol
tosti.mankelow@nhsbt.nhs.uk

Julie Molloy, OWD, NHSBT, Bristol
julie.molloy@nhsbt.nhs.uk

Kay Ridgwell, DTS, NHSBT, Bristol
kay.ridgwell@nhsbt.nhs.uk

David Roberts, University of Oxford
david.roberts@nhsbt.nhs.uk

Tim Satchwell, University of Bristol
t.satchwell@bristol.ac.uk

Louise Tilley, (co-opted) R&D, NHSBT Bristol
louise.tilley@nhsbt.nhs.uk

Ash Toye, University of Bristol
ash.m.toye@bristol.ac.uk

Mark Vickers, SNBTS, University of Aberdeen
m.a.vickers@abdn.ac.uk