What We Do

Red Cell


The Red Cell SIG aims to provide an annual UK forum for, and to promote interest in, all aspects of red blood cell research. It encompasses erythropoiesis and maturation of red cells, red cell shape and mechanics in health and disease, and the structure and function of all the proteins of the red cell as revealed by their serology, molecular genetics and biochemistry. The Red Cell SIG aims to attract an audience and participants both from within the BBTS and from the wider scientific community. Meetings are advertised through the BBTS website and newsletter and through direct e-mail to anyone who would like to be included in our contact list.


Committee Members

Dr Lesley Bruce (Chair) 
BITS,NHSBT, Bristol
lesley.bruce@nhsbt.nhs.uk

Vanja Crew (Co Chair)
IBGRL, NHSBT, Bristol
vanja.crew@nhsbt.nhs.uk

Momin Ahmed (co-opted)
Royal Free London NHS Foundation Trust
momin.ahmed@nhs.net

Anita Hill
University of Leeds
anitahill@nhs.net

Tosti Mankelow
R&D, NHSBT, Bristol
tosti.mankelow@nhsbt.nhs.uk

Julie Molloy
OWD, NHSBT, Bristol
julie.molloy@nhsbt.nhs.uk

Kay Ridgwell
DTS, NHSBT, Bristol
kay.ridgwell@nhsbt.nhs.uk

Tim Satchwell
University of Bristol
t.satchwell@bristol.ac.uk

Jannete Stevens
BITS, NHSBT, Bristol
Christian.stevens@nhsbt.nhs.uk

Louise Tilley
IBGRL, NHSBT Bristol
louise.tilley@nhsbt.nhs.uk

Ash Toye
University of Bristol
ash.m.toye@bristol.ac.uk

Mark Vickers
SNBTS, University of Aberdeen
m.a.vickers@abdn.ac.uk