What We Do


Hospital Transfusion


Overview

Welcome to the Hospital Transfusion Special Interest Group (HoT SIG) page where you’ll find out about all our current and previous work. 

The HoT SIG promotes a multidisciplinary approach to Patient Blood Management, the safe and appropriate use of blood and the appropriate use of alternatives to transfusion. We never forget that through teamwork between the transfusion laboratory, haematologists, transfusion practitioners and clinicians we can work towards ensuring the patient is always at the centre of everything we do.

Through educational events held annually, we aim to encourage all staff involved and interested in blood transfusion to come and learn and debate the current HoT topics in transfusion. If you have got a HoT topic you think should be given the spotlight then let us know.


History

The Hospital Based Transfusion Practice SIG was convened after the BBTS AGM of 1999 and held its inaugural meeting in April 2000. In 2006 we were joined by the Autologous Transfusion SIG (AT-SIG) members and in 2007 by the transfusion practitioner group, originally known as the SPOT group.

In 2007 we renamed the group HoT SIG - “Hospital Transfusion SIG”- but admit to having a wider sphere than simply hospital transfusion practice.

Committee Members

Angela Green (Chair)
a.green@nhs.net

Jennifer Heyes (Secretary)
jennifer.heyes@nhs.net

Julie Staves
Julie.Staves@ouh.nhs.uk

John Faulds
john.faulds@nhs.net

Sarah Beuschel
Sarah.Beuschel@wales.nhs.uk

Julie Johnson  julie.johnson@rbch.nhs.uk