What We Do

BBTS Awards

Every year BBTS acknowledges significant contributions within the field of transfusion medicine by presenting five prestigious awards.

Kenneth Goldsmith Award - National Transfusion

The Kenneth Goldsmith Award was introduced in 1984 and is given for original research within the field of blood transfusion together with contributions to blood transfusion in general, either in the medical or scientific fields.

2018 Recipient:  Professor Tim Walsh

Mollison Award - Rewarding Innovation

This award is given by the BBTS in recognition of the outstanding contribution made to clinical transfusion medicine by Professor Patrick Mollison during his career. This award is open to BBTS members based in the UK who have made a significant contribution to the practice of clinical transfusion medicine during the course of their career.

2018 Recipient: Dr Paula Bolton-Maggs

Race & Sanger Award - Research

The society has perpetuated the names of the Robert Race and Ruth Sanger by the establishment of the Race and Sanger Award. This award is given for involvement in research and development and making an outstanding medical / scientific contribution to transfusion medicine / science.

2018 Recipient: Nicole Thornton MSc

James Blundell Award - International Transfusion

The James Blundell Award was introduced in 1984 and is given for original research resulting in an important and significant contribution to the body of medical and or scientific knowledge within the field of blood transfusion.

2018 Recipient: Professor Andreas Greinacher

BBTS Gold Medal Award

The BBTS Gold Medal was introduced in 1997, and is awarded to an individual for their exceptional and long standing services to the Society and to the practice of blood transfusion in the UK.  

2018 Recipient: Malcolm Needs

Past Winners